## ROSS VALLEY FIRE DEPARTMENT STAFF REPORT

For the meeting of January 12, 2024

To: Board of Directors

From: Dan Mahoney, Interim Fire Chief

Subject: Appoint President and Vice President to the Ross Valley Fire Department

Board of Directors for 2024.

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

For the Fire Board to appoint a new President and Vice President to the Board for 2024.

## **BACKGROUND:**

The Fire Board (Board) adopted a policy in Resolution 00-11, which established the offices of President and Vice President. New officers are appointed in January of each year, serving a one-year term. The practice has been to alternate the presidency and vice presidency between the member agencies.

## **DISCUSSION:**

In January of 2023, The Board appointed Stephanie Hellman as President and Thomas Finn as Vice President. In line with established practice, a member from Sleepy Hollow should be elected President, and a member from San Anselmo should be elected Vice President. Typically, the Vice President is appointed President.

See the table below for past Presidents and Vice President's appointments by member agencies.

Year	President	Vice President
Jan 2023	Stephanie Hellman (Fairfax)	Thomas Finn (Sleepy Hollow)
Jan 2022	Beach Kuhl (Ross)	Renee Goddard (Fairfax)
Jan 2021	Ford Greene (San Anselmo)	Beach Kuhl (Ross)
Jan 2020	Richard Shortall (Sleepy Hollow)	Ford Greene (San Anselmo)
Jan 2019	Peter Lacques (Fairfax)	Richard Shortall (Sleepy Hollow)
Jan 2018	Elizabeth Brekhus (Ross)	Peter Lacques (Fairfax)
Feb 2017	Tom McInerney (San Anselmo)	Elizabeth Brekhus (Ross)
Jan 2016	Richard Shortall (Sleepy Hollow)	Tom McInerney (San Anselmo)